Byproducts of Bliss

The following are the songs with the lyrics that I created with the help of the children at the school. I hold these pieces and the voices that bring them to life very dear to my soul. I hope you enjoy.

Mambo:

We are leaving so goodbye/ I had a very fun time/ I learned a lot of useful things/ to help me have a good life/ Mambo, mambo/ Asante sana for everything/ Poa, poa/ you make me want to dance and sing/ Mambo, mambo/ Asante sana for everything/ Poa, poa/ you make me want to dance and sing/ I love Mr. Peter a lot/ I love all the teachers, too/ before we say farewell/ we want to say we love you/ Goodbye, goodbye/ Thank you very much for everything/ Badae, badae/ you make me want to dance and sing/ Mambo, mambo/ Asante sana for everything/ Poa, poa/ you make me want to dance and sing

Good Hope (Shikamo):

The student body of Good Hope is great and strong/ With a skeleton of friendship and muscles of song/ Sote tunafaraha moyoni/ Amani imetawala/ Tumezungu kwa na upendo/ Amani imetawala/ Shikamo, woah/ The day is bright and I love you so/ Si Jambo, woah/ This song we wrote, I hope it gives you/ It gives you Good Hope/ The blood of love beats hard against skin tight as a drum/ And every time I come to school it gives my heartstrings a strum/ Sote tunafaraha moyoni/ Amani imetawala/ Tumezungu kwa na upendo/ Amani imetawala/ Shikamo, woah/ The day is bright and I love you so/ Si Jambo, woah/ This song we wrote, I hope it gives you/ It gives you Good Hope/ I hope it gives you Good Hope/ I hope it gives you Good Hope/ I hope it gives you Good Hope/ 1, 2, 3, 4/ Rock n’ roll, woah/ The day is bright and I love you so/ Rock n’ roll, woah/ This song we wrote, I hope it gives you/ It gives you Good Hope/ I hope it gives you Good Hope

*Bonus*

A rough cover of Leonard Cohen’s masterpiece! I love this song, and so did the kids so we decided to give it a go.

These songs are the byproduct of my ethereal experience with the good people in Arusha, Tanzania. Their effect on me will be sustained in the essence of who I am for as long as I breath. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

